TIFERET 2017 Writing Contest Results

TIFERET is pleased to announce the 2017 Writing Contest Winners and Finalists!

Thank you to all who entered, and to our editors and judges for reading and selecting submissions.

POETRY: Winners and Finalists

Winner: GOOD GRIEF by R. G. Evans

Honorable Mention: On the Day My Father Died: Hungarian Refugees Bring Food by Edwin Romond

Honorable Mention: Listening Carefully by Wanda Praisner


Daffodils by Helen Mirkil

My Dear Anonymous by Jed Myers

The Garden at Sunset by C. W. Buckley

Traveling at the Speed of Night by Jude Rittenhouse

GOD OF GHOSTS by R. G. Evans

Honoring Their Youth (1 of 2) by Elisabeth Murawski

FICTION: Winners and Finalists

Winner: 10:25 a.m. EDT by Rachael Warecki

Honorable Mention: Tabernacle by Terri Daskalakis

Honorable Mention: Yellow Skateboard by Christina St Clair


Graduation by Dewi Faulkner

Dust Baby by Annetta Ribken

Winding Time by Stephen Kiernan

Three Days by Dheepa Maturi

NON-FICTION: Winners and Finalists

Winner: A Jew in Tarshish by Mayo Simon

Honorable Mention: I Let India Open My Hips by Adriana Paramo

Honorable Mention: The Existential Dog by Daniel Menaker


Finding God in My Gi by Ilona Fried


Possessing the Goddess by Sarah Cadorette

Ocean Vuong, Pizza, and Navigating Creative Darkness by Donna Chesman

Allegiances by Judith Barrington

Old Tjikko by Lara Palmqvist

Two-Lane Summer by Sue O’Neill



Poetry Judge Maria Mazziotti GillanMaria Mazziotti Gillan is winner of the 2014 George Garrett Award for Outstanding Community Service in Literature from AWP, the 2011 Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award from Poets & Writers, and the 2008 American Book Award for her book, All That Lies Between Us. She is the Founder/Executive Director of the Poetry Center at Passaic County Community College, editor of the Paterson Literary Review, and director of the creative writing program/professor of English at Binghamton University-SUNY. She has published 22 books, including What Blooms in Winter (NYQ Books, 2016) and Girls in the Chartreuse Jackets (Cat in the Sun Books, 2014). Visit her website at www.mariagillan.com.


Fictiion Judge Bill RoorbachBill Roorbach’s next book is The Girl of the Lake, a collection of stories coming from Algonquin in July, 2017. Also from Algonquin are The Remedy for Love, a finalist for the 2015 Kirkus Prize, and the bestselling Life Among Giants, which won a Maine Literary Award in 2012. An earlier collection, Big Bend, won the Flannery O’Connor and O. Henry prizes in 2000. His memoir in nature, Temple Stream, just released in a new paperback edition by Down East Books, won the Maine Literary Award in nonfiction 2005. He’s just been named a 2018 Civitella Ranieri Foundation fellow. Bill lives in Farmington and Scarborough, Maine, with his wife, Juliet Karelsen, who is a visual artist, and their daughter, Elysia Roorbach, an aspiring ballerina and full-time teen.


Nonfiction Judge Dinty MooreDinty W. Moore is author of The Story Cure: A Book Doctor’s Pain-Free Guide to Finishing Your Novel or Memoir, the memoir Between Panic & Desire, and many other books. He has published essays and stories in The Southern Review, The Georgia Review, Harpers, The New York Times Sunday Magazine, Arts & Letters, and The Normal School among numerous other venues. A professor of nonfiction writing at Ohio University, Moore lives in Athens, Ohio, where he grows heirloom tomatoes and edible dandelions.

The winner in each category receives a check for $500 and will be published in a future issue of TIFERET!

Our 2018 Writing Contest will begin on January 1, 2018. Watch for announcements!